True Love

I guess this week I will share something simple…and I will start by asking a question… Who ever got hurt by love? I’m not talking about marriage or when we are in a relationship…I’m talking about the second great commandment that Jesus gave us. “Love others even as we love ourselves” That is what true love is. True love is that no matter what someone does, we never stop being a friend. I’m not going to lie. I am not perfect in this. I am still  human and as a human,  it is normal to hold grudges. But I know that when we truly look beyond these things, that is when we finally feel what the Savior feels for a person.
As we think of who our Savior is, I know that He would be the first to love me after I betrayed Him.  He would be the first one to give me a hug after I had cursed His name. He would,  at that last day,  testify unto the Father that I have done well. I know too often we focus on the faults of others and say that everything is someone else’s fault,  when in reality,  we can always change our mind and think…how can I help this person.
atonement-copy
On my mission, I have seen people change . Not because they received all of the lessons… not because I am an amazing teacher (which i am not)… and not because they were looking for a church to go to.  I can testify that  people change when they finally feel a little bit of the love that our Father and our Savior have for us. As the primary song goes “Love one another as Jesus loves you. Try to show kindness in all that you do. Be gentle and loving in deed and in thought, for these are the things Jesus taught. “
Elder Mell
Leave a Reply

