The Two Cristians

This week was something to talk about and it all starts off with the little things.  I had the impression to invite two kids to be baptized this week which was really a treat;) ha ! Well, the first young man is named Cristian. He is 18 years old and is a kid that has a good home and parents and is very interested in the church! As we go through this struggle for a lesson. I go to extend the invitation of being baptized and I totally butcher it!!! I felt like an idiot but that’s kind of whatever !! haha So, I ask him “¿serà bautizado por alguien?” (will you be baptized for someone?)  and he was like “que dijò?” (what did you say?) So I calmly tried asking again but i couldn’t seem to get the words to come out of my mouth correctly! My new comp totally took over and explained what baptism is and we have a baptism for the 22 of August!!!!!
Now for the second kid! So …he does have the same name, Cristian,  but he is 19.  Like the other Cristian, he is an amazing kid! So this time I actually practiced what I was going to say and during the entire lesson I was just thinking about what the kid is like and what he might enjoy. I had the impression that he needs to be baptized. When I extended the invitation “¿ serà bautizado por alguien que posea la autoridad de Dios?”  ( Will you be baptized by someone who has the authority of God? ) he just said “yo fue bautizado” (I was already baptized) and I had a mini panic attack and said…we will talk next time;)
So something I was studying today.  I was reading in chapter 17  in Jesus The Christ today. I  came across something that was very interesting . It says “mere pleasure is at best but fleeting, happiness is abiding, for in the recollection there of a joy renewed.” I really like this part because a lot of people say that to have happiness in this world we need to surround ourselves with all of the best of pleasures and this I have found to be a lie… This is obvious so I will say it again “mere pleasure is at best but fleeting”. I have had many experiences that I look back on the pleasures of life and think that that brought me happiness for but a short period of time.. I testify that we are in a world of pleasure but we need to be a people of happiness!
DSC00140 DSC00302DSC00710 DSC00716
Elder Tristan Mell
Leave a Reply

